24/05/2014: VEC 3rd capture Sidney Bedlow Cup

UCFL vice-chairman Louie Glancy presents the Cup to VEC captain Jonathan Croucher (above) and Riverside's Emmett Murphy receives his Man of the Match award from the UCFL's Noel Fitzroy (below)

After a closely-fought game which went all the way to extra-time and penalties, VEC 3rds clinched victory in a memorable Sidney Bedlow Cup Final on Friday (23/05/2014) night.

Played in overcast conditions in the VEC Sportsground in Terenure, Riverside went ahead when Brian Synott netted on 22 minutes and they held that lead until half-time.  VEC equalised 15 minutes into the second half when Sean Fox rose unchallenged on the edge of the 6-yard box to head home a free-kick from the left.

Despite that setback, Riverside soon regained the initiative and went back in front on 71 minutes when Paulo Duarte worked an opening before curling a superb left-footed shot just inside the far post.

Riverside looked set for victory, but with the seconds ticking away, Sean Fox was on hand again to rescue VEC when got on the end of a diagonal ball from the right and drilled his shot low into the near corner to take the game into extra-time. 

There were no further goals in extra-time and so the final went to penalties.  In the gathering gloom and rain, the penalty shoot-out proved of high quality with 20 kicks, 10 for each side, required before VEC 3rds took the trophy on an 8-7 scoreline.