Tallaght are presented with the Bedlow Cup by UCFL Chairman Barney Blood
Goalscorer and Man of the Match Dylan Kelly receives his award from UCFL Hon Sec Paraic Treanor.

12/05/2019: Bedlow Cup Final: Tallaght Utd. 1-0 St. Maelruan’s FC

Tallaght Utd., formed just last year, are celebrating their first trophy after emerging with a hard fought 1-0 win over St. Maelruan’s in Saturday afternoon’s Sidney Bedlow Cup decider at Home Farm, Whitehall.

The winning goal was scored with just over 20 minutes gone in the first half. Following the award of a free kick, Jamie Walsh provided the cross which Dylan Kelly turned home at the front post.

Tallaght held the upper hand for much of the first half and were full value for their half-time lead. However, St. Maelruan’s remained in contention throughout and pressed hard in the second half, giving Tallaght more than a few uncomfortable moments, particularly in the final 15 minutes of the game.

St Maelruan’s went close with 15 minutes left when a corner caused havoc in the Tallaght 6-yard box, before being scrambled off the line and out for another corner. St Maelruan’s went even closer 10 minutes later when Aaron Kennedy turned sharply outside a defender and shot just wide from an acute angle on the right.

Shortly afterwards, St Maelruan’s last chance came and went when Jamie Kennedy’s 25-yard free kick dipped just over the crossbar.

Nonetheless, Tallaght were worthy winners, having a few opportunities themselves to make the game safe during the second half but failing to take any with St. Maelruan’s excellent keeper Sean Hyland a major reason for this.

Adam Niland, Darren Elton, Glen O’Hara, Jamie Murray, Jamie Daly, Rob Baxter, Jamie McEwan, Kiefer Curry, Jamie Walsh, Dylan Kelly, Jason Carpenter. Subs – Darren Collins, Bryan Kinsella, Luke O’Brien, Dean Ledden, Joe Rooney, Conor Stewart.

Sean Hyland, Darryl Fernandez, Jamie Kennedy, Ian Doyle, Jordan Keating, Scott Brien, Aaron Kennedy, Daire O’Connor, Jason Dawson, Glenn Davis, Paddy Makuba. Subs – Denzel Nwakor, Jeffrey Eferetin, Reebin Moradi, Matthew Dalton, Fariji Syed, Mark Whelan, Ross Kennedy.