Geoff Hawkins receives his Man of the Match Award from the UCFL's Paraic Treanor
Goalkeeper William Wylie accepts the Knight Cup from UCFL Chairman Barney Blood following Coolock's victory

13/05/2019: Knight Cup Final: Coolock Village 1-0 South William Street Celtic FC

The Richard Knight Cup Final kicked off at 7.00 p.m. on Saturday night and eventually produced the same final scoreline as the Bedlow Cup Final which preceded it, as Coolock ran out 1-0 winners over South William Street Celtic. If anything, this game was even closer than the Bedlow decider, with the winners having to wait until after half-time to make the breakthrough and thereafter the contest was evenly matched contest with just a few fleeting chances for both teams.

The winning goal came after SWSC lost possession in midfield, allowing Geoff Hawkins to latch on to the ball, before striding forward and unleashing a terrific shot from the edge of the area past Michael Forde in the SWSC goal.

That goal led to a pattern of SWSC striving for the equaliser and Coolock frequently threatening on the break for the remainder of the match. SWSC had a few half chances, one effort near the end which saw the ball diverted the wrong side of the post into the side netting being probably the nearest they came. But goalkeeper Willam Wylie and his fellow defenders stood firm and Coolock held on to win the Knight Cup for the first time.

Coolock Village – William Wylie, Alfred Makambu, Dermot Blain, Paul Egan, Ciaran Wogan, Vikto Vendrak, Darren Das, Stephen Patten, Geoff Hawkins, Christopher Burns, Simon Moore. Sub – Conor Blain, Anthony Walsh, George Jinazali, Neil Shanahan, Jamie Reilly, Conor Harrington.

SWSC FC – Michael Forde, Billy Kilduff, Conor Tiernan, Neill Love, Brian Keane, Mark Mulvihill, Cormac Cannon, Chris Allen, Kyle O’Riordan, Niall Cullen, Mel Roddy. Subs – David Kavanagh, John Duggan, James Morrissey, Gerry Mulcahy, Storm Sammons, Donal Dennehy.